So, I’ve been covering new albums as they’re released (and as I buy them) in my Albums Of section, but quite often I pick up stuff that hasn’t just come out and I wanted an excuse to feature those occasionally – hence this new section, Late To The Party, where I will do so.

I’m going to kick it off with this 2011 album by the cheekily-monikered Com Truise, Galactic Melt.

Galactic Melt

Com Truise (real name Seth Haley) makes music with a pretty limited palate of sounds – some quite retro sounding synths and beefed-up drum machines. However, he really uses this to his advantage, crafting ostensibly simple tracks with an amazing sense of rhythm, melody and harmony. There’s a lot of minor-key wistfulness that wouldn’t sound out of place on a Boards of Canada release, if it weren’t for the downright funky beats backing them. And he doesn’t let his ideas outstay their welcome, either – the 11 tracks on this album coming in at a relatively trim 43 minutes.

Check out Brokendate from the album, below:

